For 24/7 counsel, call the National Veteran Crisis Hotline at 988, Press 1. You may also call the Florida Veterans Support Line at 1-844-MyFLVet (1-844-693-5838) or dial 211.


Eleven Inducted into 2016 Class of the Florida Veterans’ Hall of Fame

September 23, 2016

TALLAHASSEE – Gov. Rick Scott and the Cabinet inducted eleven individuals into the Florida Veterans’ Hall of Fame.  The unanimous vote for the Class of 2016 came during the Sept. 20 Cabinet Meeting at the Capitol.

Inductees are:

  • Reubin O’Donovan Askew, U.S. Air Force veteran (deceased)
  • LeRoy Collins, U.S. Navy veteran (deceased)
  • Jordon J. “J.J.” Corbett, U.S. Army veteran
  • Rear Adm. Kevin Delaney, U.S. Navy, retired (deceased)
  • Lt. Col. Dennis O. Freytes, U.S. Army, retired
  • David L. Goetsch, U.S. Marine Corps veteran
  • Spessard Holland, Air Service, American Expeditionary Force veteran (deceased)
  • William L. Proctor, U.S. Army Reserve veteran
  • Col. Washington J. Sanchez Jr., U.S. Army, retired
  • CMSgt. Johnny E.  Stewart, U.S. Air Force, retired
  • Frederick A. Taylor, Jr., U.S. Army veteran

The Florida Veterans’ Hall of Fame recognizes and honors those military veterans who, through their works and lives during or after military service, have made a significant contribution to the state of Florida through civic, business, public service or other pursuits.  It is not a traditional military hall of fame, as it focuses on post-military contributions to the State of Florida.

An induction ceremony to honor the eleven inductees is scheduled for Nov. 9, 2016 at 2:30 p.m. in the Cabinet Room of the Florida Capitol.

For more information, visit